Tuition Fees in Sweden from 2010 – Would you still study in Sweden?


The 80 000 Crown question is would you still study in Sweden when our universities start charging fees? The Local has a lively thread about this and there are some thought provoking comments.

The Local also has a more general discussion about fees.

The Local also reported a few days ago that the Association of Swedish Higher Education recently suggested that Swedish universities reject all applications from non EU students. Wow, that’s a remarkable statement to make. The Local also says that this has been strenuously criticised by Sweden’s Higher Education Agency who counter by saying that such an action would probably be illegal. This was news from a while ago, as far as I can see, and was apparently a knee jerk reaction to the difficulties in administrating a growing number of applications.

Andrei Neculau has a provocative discussion about fees on his blog.

Swedish Universities Plan to Charge Tuition Fees – China View. It’s not surprising that a Chinese news site should pick this up, given the large number of Chinese students we get. I assume if it turns up in English on this site then it’s also been covered in Chinese.

Sweden Ending no-Tuition Policy – UPI (I guess they missed out the word ‘fees’ there…)

Update June 2010 – Check out the latest news regarding fees here.

318 thoughts on “Tuition Fees in Sweden from 2010 – Would you still study in Sweden?

  1. Hello Sir,

    My name is Valbona Shala and I am from Kosovo. I will be recieving my anticipated Bachelor of English degree from the University of Prishtina – Faculty of Education by the end of September/October 2009. I am really imnterested in applying for masters studies in Sweden but I am not sure if tthere will be a call for applications at the beginning of December (as mentioned above) if you could please confim this and refer me as how I should go about doing so or suggest someone that I could contact with. I thank you in advance.

    Regards, Valbona

  2. I WILL LIKE TO DO MY POST GRADUATE IN YOUR UNIVERSITY,PLEASE TELL ME MUCH ABOUT YOUR INSTITUTION.TANX.

  3. i am graduate in computer science and now am intersting study msc in sweden university so please help me how to register and other thing to join i am living in ethiopia from africa

  4. Hi
    resently, my student residence permit was rejected by swden migration board. i have sent appeal and to recieve any reply.
    please i want to no how long it takes for the board to reconsider my application
    thanks

  5. i will like to study do my post graduate in sweden can you please enlighten me on how to apply for these…

  6. Hi
    I have a bachelor degree in biology from Shahrekord university in Iran and I like to start master studies in genetic. Recently I informed about tuition free universities in Sweden so I would like to know how I can apply for it in 2010. I appreciate in advance for your nice cooperation

  7. Hi
    resently, my student residence permit was rejected by swden migration board. i have sent appeal and to recieve any reply.
    please i want to no how long it takes for the board to reconsider my application
    thanks

  8. John Wedderburn, UPI’s headline “Sweden Ending No-tuition Policy,” is grammatically unassailable. In American English, “tuition” is sufficient to communicate “tuition costs,” “tuition fees,” or what have you. Looks like you won’t be advancing from you post at this message board anytime soon with your current skill-set. Read much, John?

  9. hello sir,
    the government of sweden should try and reconsider the people who are not part of EU, that those people are also humanbeing who needed an ambition to futher there education in the university pf sweden. i am part of those people who are in the developing countries but have the financial power to futher my education in the university of sweden and i need information on how i will proceed and if any swedish university will conduct admission in december/january 2009/2010 section

  10. hai my self pradeep iam working as an accountant in bahrain
    iam looking to forward my self in good computerised accounting as well as business information…………..
    could you please give me a advise

  11. hello sir,
    i’m indonesian, and i’m really interested to take my masters degree (in Industrial Design) in sweden. please give me some advise.thanks

Comments are closed.