Tuition Fees in Sweden in 2010 – What do you think?


From 2010 onwards the Swedish government wants international students to pay tuition fees when they study in Sweden – the proposal will probably be passed in the Autumn of this year. 

Students who have already begun studying, or are applying in the application periods starting in 2008 or 2009, will not pay fees.

You can see all my entries tagged as fees here.

The entries on my blog about fees have been very popular and I’d like to learn what you think about paying tuition fees in Sweden. For example, will it affect your choice of Sweden as a study destination? Would you still recommend Sweden to your friends? What information do you need to have?

Please leave your comments below, thanks!

175 thoughts on “Tuition Fees in Sweden in 2010 – What do you think?

  1. Hello John,

    In the case there aren’t tuition fees to pay for the 2010 period, How could I participate to get a funding for living in Sweden???

    I am from Colombia and the cost of living in Sweden according to averages is so high. Where can I find specific information to apply for a funding or scholarship program??

    Thanks a lot.

  2. I think it will not a good decision.Because many brilliant students from poor country went Sweden due to free tuition fee.Their path to reach their goal may be close..So it should better to change this rule from 2010…..

    thanks …..

  3. hello
    i loos my hope when i read this news ( tuition fee )
    it was so boring for me
    because i wanna aplly for uppsalla university in 2010 and this qualification of study may not to continue my education in your country

  4. hello,
    In the case there aren’t tuition fees to pay for the 2010 period, How could I participate to get a funding for living in Sweden.

    I wish to apply for Msc in Geographic Information System (GIS). Already I have Hiher National Diploma in Surveying and Geoinformatics(HND) and a Profesional Diploma in Surveying and Geoinformatics (PD) and currently on my Postgradute Diploma in Geographic Information System (GIS) which is expected to end by September 2009.

    Pls help with necessary information.
    Jonadab
    Nigeria

  5. Hi,
    Wen I heard bout de implementation of tuition fee in 2010..ma dreams of doin ma masters in comp sci over der got shattered ..hope dey won introduce it… bcos students lyk me who r willin to do der masters ll b doomed..lets hope n pray fa GOD dat de swedish govt won implement de tuition fee ..Its fa der own good if dey won introduce it..bcos dey mit c “DECLINE” in [TOURISM INDUSTRY…GOOD TALENTED FOREIGN STUDENTS IN RESEARCH FIELD…IMMENSE RESPECT FA DE COUNTRY…etc etc..]..it mit even impede de growth of Sweden..So dey better don implement de tuition fee..M beggin de swedish govt so as to not to implement it fa ma{student’s} sake n fa de nation too..

  6. hello,
    i think it will be unfare because wwe will lose our hope.i am fully prepared for the spring session 2010.but after hearing that about end of no tution fee i am very much disappointed.please don’t do that.

  7. hello,
    i think it will be unfare because wwe will lose our hope.i am fully prepared for the spring session 2010.but after hearing that about end of no tution fee i am very much disappointed.please don’t do that.piease please please………………………..

  8. Hello,
    I want to begin my studies in Sweden in autumn 2010.
    From the previous comments I understood, that autumn 2010 is the last year for non-tuition studies, but I want to ask: is it true for sure?

  9. hello,
    i also think it will be unfare because wwe will lose our hope.i too am fully prepared for the spring session 2010.but after hearing that about end of no tution fee i am very much disappointed.please don’t do that. jus i need a pan firend plese wrife me

    • Hi Meseret,
      It does not look like fees will be introduced until 2011. Are you sure the Spring session is the best time. For example, many of our Master programmes in Sweden only begin teaching in the Autumn.

Comments are closed.