Regular Expressions For Selecting Out Content In Google Analytics


Just a quick little piece of regular expression goodness which made my life easier with Google Analytics. There may well be a better way to do this, but this worked for me.

I wanted to use the visualisation report to show the difference in volumes of traffic between some of our pages – but I could not see a clear way of filtering for the content I wanted.

I therefore used this regular expression

/Vill-studera/$|^/$|^/english$|^/ar-student/$|^/bibliotek/$|^/hs$|^/forskning/$

to only show the pages I was interested in, called up the content report and then used the visualisation report. Result.

Leave a Reply

