New recommendation on cookie use – browser settings rather than banners


The IAB in Sweden (the trade association for the digital and interactive marketing industry) have, this month, released a set of new recommendations on how website cookies should be used. These place the emphasis on the website visitor’s browser setting to determine whether cookie will be used, and move away from the website banners that have been previously promoted as a solution.

These recommendations are a response to the Electronic Communications Act (Sweden), which is itself a response to the EU directive concerning on-line privacy. This directive requires consent from a website visitor before cookies are placed on their computer;  but – as I’ve posted previously – this breaks many important tools for ensuring a good visitor experience. Not least, it directly impacts the use of Google Analytics.

The IAB guidelines say the following:

– Cookie use, and type, should be clearly identified on the site
– Clear information should be given about what cookies do and their purpose

The awesomeness (but also what I expect will be the controversial element):

– If a user’s browser is set to accept cookies this means they have granted consent for cookies to be used (if the website clearly identifies which cookies are being used)
– If a user’s browser rejects cookies, then this must be respected

They promote the use of a standardised badge, to help users find out what cookies are used and make their own choice.

I need cookies to do my job – that is, to make the user experience better; these recommendations seem like a sensible solution for everyone. Unfortunately, I doubt that the EU will entirely agree – particularly given the apparent disagreement between EU ministers on how this directive should be enforced.

(You can see this slow car crash unfolding by checking out all my posts on the cookie directive).

What do you think? Will this work – is this an alternative to the opt-in banners which seem to be popping up?

IAB recommendations in Swedish and English.

6 thoughts on “New recommendation on cookie use – browser settings rather than banners

  1. Pingback: How will the EU cookie directive impact the digital media industry? | Nathan Levi

  2. Pingback: EU Cookie Directive = Analytics Suicide - Searchmuse

  3. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  4. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  5. of course like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on
    several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I find it very troublesome to inform the truth on the other hand I will definitely come again again.

Leave a Reply

